Yes, I’ve read all the books. Albus Dumbledore is one of my favorite fictional characters. I love his emphasis on choice. “It is the choices we make,” he says, “that show who we truly are, far more than our abilities.”

I have the feeling that I’m going to have to find a fun way to treat the science of the Harry Potter books. It shouldn’t be that hard. I find the science of Christmas by leaning on popular culture – why your tongue sticks to a cold flag pole, why reindeer really fly, how to make an exploding snowball, and so on. There have to be similar silly fun bits of science in Harry Potter.

Flying broomsticks are an obvious choice. Must be something fun there.

Potions, of course.

Maybe make a fire-breathing dragon, similar to the barfing pumpkin demo.

“Nearly headless? How can you be nearly headless?” There’s something fun (and gross) there.

Invisibility? Howlers? The whomping willow? There’s got to be something in there somewhere.

The problem is, so much of the later books are so serious. I need some fun! Ideas?

